Burt’s Bees Replenishing Lip Balm with Pomegranate Oil Review, Price India

4

Hola my beauties! Perdon, as I have been way for so long, and making such irregular posts. But an exciting thing is that I’m learning a beautiful new language! Spanish is fun, but learning a new language isn’t as easy. There is new vocab to learn, verb conjugations to mug up, and all the jazz…. Phew! Hence the irregularity. But I’m gonna try my best to post something at least once a week?!?! So, I have a new lip balm to tell you about (well, I have officially lost count of how many I have reviewed on the blog till now!)

The review for this Burt’s Bees lip balm has long been pending. I have had this one for almost 1.5 years now. I had bought a pack of two from the US, and just opened the second tube in the pack. Let’s jump to the details now.

Ingredients:

Claims: Burt’s Bees website claims:

Give your thirsty lips a whole lot of love with our lip balm with antioxidant-rich Pomegranate Oil. 100% natural, it happily hydrates and revitalizes your lips with a hint of color for an even, beautifully toned appearance.

  • Packed with the power of Pomegranate Oil.
  • Sweet Pomegranate flavor.
  • Single tubes and twinpack available.

Packaging: This comes in an adorable honeybee yellow colored tube. The caps on Burt’s Bees lip balms complement the special ingredient of the product, such as a deep maroon in this case which is reminiscent of a pomegranate. Rest of the tube is a no-frill affair: there is a simple twist up mechanism. I have not faced any problems with the packing. I love the fact that everything is mostly recyclable: right down to the plastic used in the tube to the cardboard packing. Talk about believing in a philosophy!

My Experience: I had read rave reviews for this one all over the place. Burt’s Bees is a cult favourite brand, and I really wanted to try a product which was so popular in the blogosphere. I ended up buying the twin pack.

Color, Flavor, Texture: The balm is a deep pink-red in color. It has a herby scent, a lot like rosemary and pomegranate mixed together. Well, it does contain rosemary leaf extract. I’m not extremely fond of this scent, as I prefer my lip balms to have a sweet scent (on lines of chocolate, or at least fruity!) Talking about the texture, it is a bit complicated. When I used it in winters, it was super waxy, and just didn’t glide well on the lips. I didn’t even like the feeling it left on my lips in winters, and I ended up using other lip balms, keeping this back in my vanity for god knows how many months! Then, out of the blue moon, pop this appears one day in summers and I remember I even own this! In summers, it behaves quite differently. It is not that hard or waxy, probably due to the heat. I happen to like the texture, as it is not as hard, and I don’t have to rub it a lot. I also prefer the herby scent in summer. I really don’t know why!

Effectiveness: I’m two minded on this one. Since the balm is extremely waxy in winters, it just sat on my lips and did nothing for them. But in summers, it’s another story. I like how smooth it is on the lips, and how it leaves a faint hint of red on the lips, making them look healthy! It softens up the lips instantly, and does help heal chapped lips to an extent. I have used it at night and this works satisfactorily to heal chapped lips overnight (I tried this when I was suffering from a cold and terribly chapped lips). It isn’t extraordinarily effective, but yeah, it isn’t something that won’t work.

Where to buy: In India, you can either find Burt’s Bees in Sephora, or through online portals such as Flipkart. It’s high time for big ticket brands to officially launch in India, I hope you are hearing me Burt’s Bees, eos, elf, and Lush!

Price: You’ll have to shell out Rs. 400-450 for a Burt’s Bees lip balm in India (for one tube, mind you). In the US, the pricing is still much better (~$6 for 2 tubes).

FFS Rating: 3/5

Value for Money: I had bought mine from the States, where it cost me a fraction of what it costs in India… at Rs 450, I don’t find it a genuine value for money, coz even Baby Lips works well enough for me. That being said, I still love Burt’s Bees and the brand’s philosophy, as well as the product! I’ll definitely want to try out more variants if I find good deals (or if someone manages to get these for me from the US!)

Pros and Cons:

Pros:

  1. All natural product
  2. Slightly tinted, which makes lips look healthy (this wouldn’t be very prominent on pigmented lips though)
  3. Hygienic, twist-up tube packing
  4. Effective in healing chapped lips (at least in summers)

Cons:

  1. Waxy and ineffective during winters
  2. Efficacy not worth the price (at least in India)
  3. The scent…it is quite herby and would not be everybody’s cup of tea
  4. Expensive in India
  5. Availability is quite limited

Final Word: Do I recommend it? If you are fine with hereby scented products, then this might be good enough for you. A slightly waxy texture makes this otherwise decent lip balm a bit of a loser.

5 thoughts on “Burt’s Bees Replenishing Lip Balm with Pomegranate Oil Review, Price India

Leave a comment